top of page

Day 21 in Kenya- Ethiopian

Today was a good day.

It started with my packing, SADLY, I had start organizing and tidying all my stuff because I leave friday. I also watched one of the sermons from a Matt Chandler series I've started, City on a Hill. Its been great and has been challenging me to be the light Jesus calls me to be in this world.

After lunch I head over to the church. I went and I helped the children ministry organize their boxes of papers. That was fun because I was with some of the people around my age too. Just talking, chatting, getting to know one another was super nice to do. Patricia, also gave me a Kenya flag and some little Kenyan bracelets as a goodbye gift. She has been such a blessing to me for the time I've been here and I am so blessed by her. She is so loving, and caring, and is definitely always shining. She's a mom so naturally she's very nurturing. Patricia also loves pictures- so she's been our photographer whenever we've been in the office.

Then my friend Rebecca met me at the church and then we went to News Cafe. It was such a lovely time, hearing her story, where she's come from and how God's grace still extends to those who have walked miles away. Testimonies are always amazing to hear and share because we just hear once again about God choosing and loving us enough to save us from the darkness in which we once walked. I only met her on saturday though which is such a shame because I would have loved to do more things with her, had I known her before.

Finally, after I got back, the family and a couple thats from the church, went out for Ethiopian food! I got told Ethiopians eat with their hands though so that was quite the let down because I really wanted to use a fork and knife. The food was different from most things I've ever had so it was nice to try something new... It was a good dinner, every time we spend time together I learn a little more about each of the kids, and since Zack is going on a retreat tonight it was our last chance to talk and get to know each other. We walked the dogs around the block when we got home too and we got to chat about God being sufficient for us even when the world seems far more appealing.

It was a good night and I am sad to say tomorrow is my last full day!

-Bryanna Samayoa


Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page